LibGuides: Legal Dictionaries: Home

Home

Canadian Legal Dictionaries

Legal dictionaries are used to look up definitions of legal terms. Citations to primary sources of law may also be provided, indicating the origins of the definition.

Black's Law Dictionary
Via Westlaw.
Merriam Webster's Dictionary of Law
Canadian Online Legal Dictionary
from Irwin Law.
Glossary of Legal Terms (Emond Publishing)
Oxford Dictionary of Law
Legal Dictionaries
via HeinOnline. "This collection of legal dictionaries is composed of more than 300 titles from various countries, on multiple topics."

The Dictionary of Canadian Law by Nancy McCormack
Call Number: Reference, 1st Flr. ; KF156 .D85 2020
Publication Date: 2020

There are other print dictionaries of law in print in the law library.

Dictionaries

Dictionaries in print

Pocket Dictionary of Canadian Law (print) 6th ed.

Internation Legal Dictionaries

Abbreviations

Cardiff Index
International legal abbreviations.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
(Parry and Grant) (3rd edition)
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law
Includes Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.
more...less...
Access limited to law users only.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Oxford Encyclopedias of International Law

Citation Guides

Legal Classics This link opens in a new window
Legal Classics contains thousands of historical works from authors including including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, and many more

Request a book via interlibrary loans.

International Litigation and Advocacy

Talking International Law by Ian Johnstone (Editor); Steven Ratner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780197588437
Publication Date: 2021-09-23

Journals from a Variety of Jurisdictions

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary material from around the world. More than 208 million pages of journals, government documents, international resources, and case law. Includes the Annual Statutes of the Parliament of Canada, Canada Supreme Court Reports, Provincial Statutes of Canada, and Revised Statutes of Canada.
Westlaw Edge Canada This link opens in a new window
Use the International tab to navigate to World Journals collection.
Includes: Criminal Source, Employment source, Estates&Trusts Source, Family Source, Insolvency Source, IP Source, Labour Source, Litigator, Securities Source

Foreign & International Law Resources Database
"This database includes in-depth publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions, and more."

European Journals

Treaty Sources

Canada Treaty Information
Canada Treaty Series in the Law Library
Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General
Provides key information about treaties deposited with the United Nations, including title, date and place of signature, parties and party status, reservations filed and information necessary to cite the treaty.
United Nations Treaty Series
Official website.
United Nations Law Collection
via HeinOnline, provides the scanned version of UN Treaty Series in an easy-to-navigate way.
US Treaties and Agreements Library
via HeinOnline
World Treaty Library
via HeinOnline

Common Treaty Citations

Universal Declaration of Human Rights, 10 December 1948, 43 AJILS 127. UNGAOR 3rd Sess. UN Doc A/811. (Adopted by the UNGA 10 December 1948).
Statute of the International Court of Justice, 26 June 1945, Can TS 1945 No 7 (entered into force 24 October 1945).
Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, 23 May 1969, 1155 UNTS 331 (entered into force 27 January 1980, accession by Canada 27 January 1980).
UN Framework Convention on Climate Change, 09 May 1992, 1771 UNTS 107 (entered into force 21 March 1994, ratified by Canada 4 December 1992).

Sources

Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals This link opens in a new window
ALC provides the full text of the most important decisions of the International Criminal Court, including concurring, separate and dissenting opinions.

International Legal Materials
via HeinOnline

Oxford Reports on International Law This link opens in a new window
Coverage of public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals.
Includes:
Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts
Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction
Oxford Reports on International Criminal Law
Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law
Oxford Reports on International Investment Claims
International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID)
Oxford Law Citator

Get Help

Guide to Locating International Judicial Decisions

Sources for United Nations Documents

League of Nations Archives
Among the 14,2 million pages digitized are documents covering all the activities of the League between 1920 and 1946, and some 27,000 maps and 9,000 photographs.
United Nations Digital Library
UNDL includes UNBISnet, UN documents, UN maps, speech and voting records.
United Nations Documents
via HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection.
United Nations Official Document System

Citation Assistance

Jessup Library
This database provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960.