Indigenous Law

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and archival heritage material that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. This includes text, photographs, maps, and audio-visual material.

The Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) was established by Order in Council on August 26, 1991, and it submitted in October 1996 the Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples.

2012 to present. "Bill C-30, the Specific Claims Tribunal Act (SCTA), was first introduced in the House of Commons on November 27, 2007. It was passed by the House of Commons on May 13, 2008, adopted by the Senate on June 12, 2008 and received Royal Assent on June 18, 2008. The SCTA came into force on October 16, 2008.

The SCTA radically changed the specific claims process by establishing an independent tribunal comprised of superior court judges with the authority to make binding decisions on the validity of claims and compensation awards, to a prescribed maximum of $150 million per claim."

1994-2009. "Contains the proceedings of the Indian Claims Commission, an independent advisory body that holds public inquiries into specific claims the government has rejected. The Commission also provides mediation to help First Nations and government reach claim settlements."

University of Saskatchewan Indigenous Law Centre.

Dated 22 February 2023.

The First Nations Digital Document Source (FNDDS) is a collection of electronic documents used primarily for research in land claims and First Nations issues. Documents include court decisions, legislation, treaties, claims policies, privy council orders, research guides, and instructional resources related to land claims and Aboriginal title, particularly in the Canadian context. The FNDDS is owned collectively by the Claims Research Units (CRU) research directors and is currently being maintained by the staff of the Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs (UBCIC).

The materials assembled in this collection are scanned copies of the official records produced by the Joint Indian Reserve Commission (1876 to 1878) and the Indian Reserve Commission (1878 to 1910) relating to their activities allotting Indian reserves, fishing stations, commonages, and water rights in British Columbia.
The electronic copies available here replicate the 22 volume set of federal records and the 13 volume set of provincial records that are available to view in hard copy at the Union of BC Indian Chiefs Resource Centre, Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) at the Specific Claims West Library.