Law Reform Commissions

The Law Reform Database is an online bibliography covering publications of law reform agencies in Canada, the Commonwealth of Nations, and the United States. Each record in the Database describes a discrete publication. Much of the material catalogued in the Law Reform Database was issued before 2000 and has never been digitalized. The Database was under continual development from 1988 until about 2007, after which records were added sporadically until 2017. Coverage in the Law Reform Database up to 2010 is reasonably comprehensive, but the Database is not being expanded as virtually all new law reform publications are available in digital form from the websites of the agencies themselves.

In 2006, the federal government removed all funding for the LCC and it was abolished. Library and Archives Canada has some LCC materials in their collection.

"The goal is to harmonize the laws in the provinces and territories in Canada." This is not a government-funded body.

This replaces the Law Reform Commission of British Columbia, which was discontinued due to budget cuts in 1997.

"Dedicated to advancing just and effective laws through independent legal research, consultation and analysis"

"The Commission’s purpose is to review the law in Saskatchewan with a view to its systematic modernization and simplification"

"Role is to improve, modernize and reform the law and administration of justice in Manitoba." Provides limited publications back to 1997

The Ontario Law Reform Commission was abolished in 1996 due to budget cuts. The new Law Commission of Ontario was launched on Sept. 7, 2007

New Brunswick does not have a separate, independent commission.

"The Commission's projects cover a broad range of social and legal issues"

There is no separate commission, but the Foundation is responsible for law reform

"The aim of the Commission is to ensure that the law is: fair, modern, simple, and cost effective." Comprehensive site with many documents available for free.

"The Commission is Scotland’s law reform body.
It was established under the Law Commissions Act 1965 to make recommendations to Government to simplify, modernise and improve Scots law. Over the last 50 years the Commission has been at the forefront of major changes to Scots law."

The Commission is an independent body established under the Law Reform Commission Act 1975. The Law Reform Commission Act 1975 states that the Commission's role is to keep the law under review and to conduct research with a view to the reform of the law. The 1975 Act defines law reform to include:
the development of law
its codification (including its simplification and modernisation) and
the revision and consolidation of statute law.

"The leading independent organization in the United States producing scholarly work to clarify, modernize, and improve the law"

"The Uniform Law Commission (ULC, also known as the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws), established in 1892, provides states with non-partisan, well-conceived and well-drafted legislation that brings clarity and stability to critical areas of state statutory law."

Legislation enacted in 1965 establishing the Legislative Council, Act 412 of 1965 (since superseded by Act 268 of 1986), also authorized the creation of a law revision commission to "examine the common law and statutes of the state and current judicial decisions for the purpose of discovering defects and anachronisms in the law and recommending needed reforms." The commission makes an annual report to the Legislative Council.

"The Australian Law Reform Commission is a federal agency that reviews Australia’s laws to ensure they provide improved access to justice for all Australians by making laws and related processes more equitable, modern, fair and efficient"

The Law Commission reviews, reforms and develops New Zealand law." Includes publications back to the 1980s

"Reforming the law for maximising justice in society and promoting good governance under the Rule of Law"

"The Law Reform Commission of Hong Kong was established in January 1980. The Commission considers for reform those aspects of the laws of Hong Kong which are referred to it by the Secretary for Justice or the Chief Justice."

"Promotes the rule of law, democracy, human rights, and good governance in criminal law and the administration of criminal justice, domestically, regionally and globally." Based in Vancouver at UBC.