Halsbury's Laws of England (4th edition, not updated) (encyclopedia of laws) is available in the Law Library.
There are a few U.K. and Commonwealth legal textbooks available in the Law Library.
Email lawill@uwindsor.ca to request content.
A comprehensive collection of legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
Full-text judgments from UK, Australia and Canada. Content includes: England and Wales Judgments Complete (1852 -); UK Statutes from 1235 forward including amendment information; Canadian and Australian cases; Justcite functionality. Irwin Law e-book collection is also found in this source.
Law Library Provides a full collection of historical UK statutes.
Full-text judgments from UK, Australia and Canada. Content includes: England and Wales Judgments Complete (1852 -); UK Statutes from 1235 forward including amendment information; Canadian and Australian cases; Justcite functionality. Irwin Law e-book collection is also found in this source.
The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales (ICLR) contains the official Law Reports, The Weekly Law Reports, The Industrial Cases Reports, The Business Law Reports, The Public and Third Sector Law Reports and the Consolidated Index to leading law reports.
Noting up functionality for locating judicial consideration of cases can be found on Westlaw by locating the case and choosing "Citing References" tab.
Noting up functionality can also be found on VLex and choosing "Cited In" tab.
Print version available in the law library at call number: KD7 .E65
Between 1220 and 1865, British cases were reported by over 500 reporters who sat in the court room, taking notes and who then published them. Eventually, 170 of these reporters’ publications were pulled together and published as large collection, entitled the English Reports. Accordingly, you may find a citation to the English Reports, but citations to these oldest reporters continue to be used. Collectively, these oldest reporters are called the “Nominative Reports” (indicating that they are organized by the Reporter’s name). In our library, we have a full copy of the English Reports Full Reprint. These cases are on the shelf organized by volume number. For those who have a citation to a Nominative Report only, this set may also be browsed, as the set is organized in alphabetical order by reporter name.
Recognize however, that not all Nominative Reports are included in this set. If a nominative report can’t be found in the E.R.: a) we do have individual nominative reporters on LLMC Digital, and on the shelf in the law library. b) look to the Revised Reports mentioned below. If you require assistance finding Nominative Reports that are not published in the E.R., please see a Reference Librarian.
Print version (1866 – current) in the Law Library at call number: KD 8 .L42 – KD 8 .L62
Users will note that this series is organized by level of court. The current edition is divided into four series:
Available Online at:
The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales (ICLR) contains the official Law Reports, The Weekly Law Reports, The Industrial Cases Reports, The Business Law Reports, The Public and Third Sector Law Reports and the Consolidated Index to leading law reports.
Selected early English decisions from 1535-1935
Print version (1558-1935) in the Law Library at call number: KD8.A41.
Available Online at:
1936 – Current
Print version (1936–current) in the Law Library at call number: KD8.A42
Available Online at:
Available in print in the law library at call number KD8.W42.
The Revised Reports (R.R.) (a selection of 140 Nominate reporters) Print version (1785-1865) is in the Law Library at call number: KD7 .R32. The Digest (digest of cases) at call number: KD 8 .4 .E57.
Available online through:
The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales (ICLR) contains the official Law Reports, The Weekly Law Reports, The Industrial Cases Reports, The Business Law Reports, The Public and Third Sector Law Reports and the Consolidated Index to leading law reports.
