Contact Us:
Don & Gail Rodzik Law Library
Faculty of Law
University of Windsor
401 Sunset Avenue,
Windsor, ON N9B 3P4
Circulation Desk:
Phone: 519-253-3000 ext 2977
Email: lawcirc@uwindsor.ca
Reference Desk:
Phone: 519-253-3000 ext 2975Includes primary sources, commentary, court documents, forms and precedents. Full text source for Canadian law resources. Includes the Canadian Abridgement Digests and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; cases (reported and unreported), commentary, legislation, and journal articles. Also includes robust collection of US law. Windsor Law users are provided with a password for this product.
Includes: Criminal Source, Employment source, Estates&Trusts Source, Family Source, Insolvency Source, IP Source, Labour Source, Litigator, Securities Source
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian case law, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations, along with some commentary and value-added functionality. Windsor Law users are provided with a password for this product.
The CanLII.org website provides access to court judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, federal courts, and the courts in all Canada’s provinces and territories.
CanLII.org also contains decisions from many federal and provincial administrative tribunals. While CanLII has added some sets of historical cases, for most Canadian courts and tribunals, our collection is generally complete for cases decided after 2001. CanLII also contains the consolidated statutes and regulations and the annual statutes of every jurisdiction in Canada as well as commentary.
Includes primary sources, commentary, court documents, forms and precedents. Full text source for Canadian law resources. Includes the Canadian Abridgement Digests and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; cases (reported and unreported), commentary, legislation, and journal articles. Also includes robust collection of US law. Windsor Law users are provided with a password for this product.
Includes: Criminal Source, Employment source, Estates&Trusts Source, Family Source, Insolvency Source, IP Source, Labour Source, Litigator, Securities Source
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian case law, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations, along with some commentary and value-added functionality. Windsor Law users are provided with a password for this product.
The CanLII.org website provides access to court judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada, federal courts, and the courts in all Canada’s provinces and territories.
CanLII.org also contains decisions from many federal and provincial administrative tribunals. While CanLII has added some sets of historical cases, for most Canadian courts and tribunals, our collection is generally complete for cases decided after 2001. CanLII also contains the consolidated statutes and regulations and the annual statutes of every jurisdiction in Canada as well as commentary.
Digests are short summaries of decisions, highlighting key facts and legal issues. In addition to allowing you to quickly scan a significant volume of decisions, digests are also usually organized topically, in a tree structure that allows you to browse to a fairly refined subset of digests.
The Canada Digest is available on Lexis+ (Content Type - Cases - Case Summaries - All Canada Digests), "a collection of over one million relevant and leading English and French-language case summaries divided up by area of law and topic." With over 50 major topics, most areas of law are covered. Each topic has its own update schedule and coverage, with most topics covering back to the mid 1800s (for example, Canada Legal Profession Digest has "coverage starts February 24, 1871", whereas Canadian Labour Arbitration Digest has "coverage from 05 January 1949 through current").
The Canadian Abridgement (Westlaw Edge Canada) "[c]overs virtually every case reported in Canada since 1803, and every reported or unreported case received from the courts since 1986, with the exception of Quebec civil law cases" and purports to classify essentially every court case available on Westlaw Edge Canada. Like every source on Westlaw, the Abridgement can be searched at any level during the browsing process. However, it is important to understand that this search only searches the digests at the selected level, not the full text of the digested cases.
Comprehensive coverage of Canadian case law, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations, along with some commentary and value-added functionality. Windsor Law users are provided with a password for this product.
Includes primary sources, commentary, court documents, forms and precedents. Full text source for Canadian law resources. Includes the Canadian Abridgement Digests and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; cases (reported and unreported), commentary, legislation, and journal articles. Also includes robust collection of US law. Windsor Law users are provided with a password for this product.
Includes: Criminal Source, Employment source, Estates&Trusts Source, Family Source, Insolvency Source, IP Source, Labour Source, Litigator, Securities Source